Pet Spotlight

Naturally, I had to dedicate a post to our multitude of animals. This is just an introduction to our 9 bundles of joy. More in depth information on the upkeep of birds and snakes will follow, for those who may ever have an interest in owning one of these fascinating creatures.

Avian Children

  • Serafina ~ [Rescued] Female Blue-headed Pionus Parrot (Pionus menstruus), ~ 2 years old

P1200323P1200349

  • Benjamin ~ [Rescued] Male Pionus Hybrid, ~ 2 years old

P1200327P1200345P1200381

  • Rotini, Fiori, & Leopold ~ Male Budgerigars (Melopsittacus undulatus)
  • I hand raised Leopold (Bottom) after getting him as a 10 day old hatchling. He had splayed legs that I had to immediately correct with 2 sets of hobbles.

P1140380P1140281P1140245

  • Petri & Penelopeeps ~ Female Budgerigars

P1140385P1140273

Serpentine Buddies

  • Lady ~ Female Pine Snake (Pituophis melanoleucus)

P1200250P1200213

  • Sophia ~ Female Corn Snake (Pantherophis guttatus)

P1200185P1200307

4 thoughts on “Pet Spotlight

  1. Hello, your pionus hybrid is beautiful. I had one just like him. She passed away today, she was 26 years old and came to me with battered wings in a tiny cage and was fed cheese puffs. If you Google pionus hybrid she is the only one that shows up on the images besides yours. I’m so happy and filled with joy to know there is more with that beautiful pink cap.

    • Thank you for the wonderful post. I am terribly sorry to hear about your loss. I am sure she brought much happiness to your life and was extremely grateful for rescuing her from those conditions. Our hybrid is named Benjamin. He shares his home with 5 parakeets, a blue headed pionus, and our new rescue, a maximilian pionus! He is only a little over 2 years old and came from an abuse situation. He was very distrusting of people and still only truly likes my husband, but it has been extremely rewarding to watch him come out of his shell over the last year. I just looked up pictures of your pionus – a beauty to be sure. We’ve always wondered what these birds had been hybridized with to produce such a strange color pattern and I am wondering if you happen to know the answer? Our best guess has always been a blue headed pionus and a white capped pionus. I am so grateful to have heard from another person with hybrid experience.

      • It was so nice of you to respond! My guess along with talking to many other parronts was also blue headed and white capped. She only really cared for me but had to play “I’m gonna rescue you from the item chasing you” to get her to step up from on her play top and she’d bite if I went in her cage. Once she was out she was friendly. If I set her down outside of her cage she had no problem stepping up.
        I call Peaches a she but I never had DNA done on her 🙂
        I’ve only ever been able to find one other that looked like them on a lost parrot flyer online a few years ago. I hope your Benjamin comes around and learns to trust.

Leave a Reply

